Join us for EmpowerEd for Student Success...a bold new campaign!

Meet Our Team

Our Executive Officers, Board Members, and Staff are one of the driving forces behind the Foundation.

Executive Board

We are grateful for our Board, whose guidance and support continue to improve the Foundation and allow it to help more students at every opportunity.

Caroline Lynch

Vice Chair

Founder/Owner, Copper Hill Strategies, LLC

Stephanie Hertzberg

Immediate Past Chair

Executive Director of Strategy and Business Development, Kitchell

Ray Schey


Market President & Publisher, Phoenix Business Journal

Bradley V. Martorana

Finance Chair

Partner, Snell & Wilmer

Abran Villegas


Managing Director, Lazear Capital

Dr. Greg Peterson

College President Liason

President, Chandler-Gilbert Community College

Dr. Steven R. Gonzales


Maricopa Community Colleges District

Brian F. Spicker

President & CEO

Maricopa Community Colleges Foundation

Board Members

Anthony Alfonso

Global Head of Valuation

Apex Group, Ltd.

Richard Boals

Emeritus Board Member

Cathy Brown

Co-Owner & CFO

Paloma Ready Mix & Materials

David Drennon

Press Secretary & Policy Advisor

City of Phoenix

Kelli Butler

Governing Board Member

Maricopa Community College District

Dr. Paul A. Elsner

Emeritus Board Member

Leroy M. Gaintner

Emeritus Board Member

Michelle Gayles

Chief Strategic Officer

Phoenix Union High School District

Michael Gonzalez

Vice President

McCarthy Building Companies, Inc.

Max Gonzales

EVP Strategy & Releationship Management

Chicanos Por La Causa

Russell Johnson

Emeritus Board Member

Keith Latchaw

President & CEO

MSS Business Transformation Advisory

Geri Mingura

Associate GM/Chief HR Executive


Dr. Tom Nerini

Governing Board Member

Maricopa Community Colleges District (Ex Officio)

John Pombier

Senior Manager of Community Engagement


Dr. Rey Rivera


Estrella Mountain Community College

Deanna Scabby

Council Member

Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community

Dr. Kate Smith


Rio Salado Community College

Traci Stooks-Dermer

Vice President, Operations Support


Sherri Thomas


Career Coaching 360

Warren Whitney

SVP Government Affairs

Valleywise Health

Barry Woodbrey

Director Human Resources


Foundation Staff

Judy Sanchez

Chief Development Officer

(480) 731-8739

Diana Aguirre-Rosales

Fiscal Director

(480) 731-8494

Lupe Espinoza

Fiscal Supervisor and Grant Compliance

(480) 731-8559

Erin Fleischmann

Network & Systems Administrator

(480) 731-8408

Kelli Gentile

Executive Assistant

(480) 784-0630

Hiba Ghaffor

Program Coordinator

(480) 731-8404

Bahiyyih Maloney

Fiscal Specialist Senior

(480) 731-8417

Karley Mellberg

Scholarship Fund Administrator

Mary Mickels

Fiscal Specialist Senior

(480) 731-8719

Nilam Patel

Workforce & Industry Development Officer Senior

(480) 731-8708

Maria Peralta

Scholarship Program Specialist

Casey Ralph


(569) 745-4565

Amy Tupay

Marketing & Public Relations Coordinator

(480) 731-8410

Sharon Weltz

Grants Officer Senior

(480) 731-8407

Board Members